Time-Travel Appropriate Use Case

I am new to timescaledb and we are evaluating a potential use case. We would like to create time-travel versions of some of our tables. The idea would be that each row would have two time columns - start and end. When a row is first added, its start is the timestamp of creation but the end is NULL. When a row is updated, its end value becomes the modification timestamp and a new row is added that has a start value 1ms ahead of the update time and again its end time is NULL. 95% of queries would need to query when end is NULL since they just need to retrieve the ‘current’ version. The other 5% of queries would look for rows where the time frame being queried is between start and end or between start and NULL.

My worry is that this would not be performant at all since in all liklihood the 95% of queries that were not time traveling would result in a scan across all partitions. I assume that adding a “where end is NULL” wouldnt help much.

Alternatively, we could have a standard table, and then an ‘audit table’ that contained all the time changes. No time travel queries would hit the standard table and then any time travel queries would hit the audit table.

Are my assumptions above correct? Would option 1 run into serious performance issues on large (10 million plus rows) or is timescale able to partition in such a way that the 95% of queries that were looking for end=null would perform close to as well as a standard PG query where timescale was not installed?

I think the biggest issue with that approach may be, that you actually have to update the hypertable. How long would you expect the record to the “the latest” and do you expect to use compression?